RSS

Original Novel: Brief Synopsis

24 Apr

For those of you who have asked me about what my novel is about, thank you so much for your support. As I’ve mentioned to another poster, I don’t want to give out too much away as talking about my stories lowers my motivation to write them. In addition, I’m also concerned about plagiarism or idea theft as I have not completed my novel, and therefore, have not sent the story to be copyrighted. Without copyright protection, I can lose my story. I realize I don’t have many followers on this blog, but I’d rather play it safe than sorry

However, I will be using this blog to discuss my writing process and the novel’s progress without giving too much away. Once the novel is completed (and it better be by the end of this year, or I’ll eat my hat), I will also use this blog to promote the book as well as provide a brief summary. At that point, the novel will have been sent to the Library of Congress as well as the Writers’ Guild of America.

I will give this much away:

1.) It is a young adult novel that will also hopefully appeal to adult readers.
2.) The characters are forest, farm, and urban animals, and yes, they talk.
3.) The main characters are a fox, a wolf, and a crow.
4.) The story focuses on friendship, family, loss, and what it means to become an adult.
5.) The story takes place in numerous locations through the United States.

I hope I’ve captured your interest. I am now working on Part II, and as predicted, it’s proven difficult after the completion of Part I.

Thank you for following me! I hope to see you again soon.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Original Novel: Brief Synopsis

  1. adah!

    April 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    ohh… animals that talk huh…honestly all the stories about talking animals that I have ever read were children stories… I do watch movies with that theme though..heheheh… a fox, a wolf and a crow were really odd combinations… with the fox being a solitary creature and a wolf which live with a pack and a crow, being a … well, crow… creepy and such… lol… from the sound of it , it seems like a self-reflecting story and no matter what I do, I always end up liking stories of that genre…
    Good luck on this project! Hopefully you finish it on time and well, I might be checking for it in the bookstore, if ever it reach my country… I’m from Philippines btw… lol…

    so, ja ne!

    *it would be nice if an e-book would be available, free e-book are the best! lol*

     
    • bettyvine

      April 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

      Hi Adah,

      Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes, I’m concerned that the genre I’ve chosen is more likely to attract children than adults, especially since my story has some serious content. Then again, Pixar has dared to touch upon heavy themes, and children today are so much more sophisticated than children one or two generations ago.

      If I fail to get this publisher or represented, which is highly likely, I will self-publish electronically. Right now is way too soon to tell, but thank you for asking! It’s encouraging to know someone is curious.

      I don’t know if you are aware of this or not, but I’m filipina as well. I was born in the U.S., though, and thoroughly white-washed. 😛

      Keep in touch!

       

Leave a Reply

 
