RSS

Original Novel: End of Part I on the Horizon

20 Apr

I don’t know if this counts as a milestone or not, but it certainly feels like one for me. I am now working on the last chapter of Part I of my childrens/young adult novel. No, it’s not Part I as in Part I of a trilogy, it’s simply Part I of the novel itself. Yeah, I know. Big whoop, but let me explain.

I spent the greater part of the end of March wrangling with writer’s block and hiding in fear that this project would once again hit the garbage bin barely forty pages in. Fortunately, I confided in my significant other, who advised that I keep the parts I felt boring, but necessary short and sweet, and keep moving faster toward the parts I looked forward to in my outline. You’d think this solution would be common sense, but it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything in prose. In screenplays, you can cut in the middle of a scene and jump somewhere else to move the action along. Novels? Honestly, I’d rather not push the “experimental” envelope since I’m just a rookie/wannabe writer. I don’t have the credentials to play hardball without looking like a pretentious ass.

Oh, wait. Too late.

So here I am, on the last chapter, and feeling very worried this chapter won’t be excuted the way I’ve imagined it. And I’ve imagined it enough times to recite the dialogue out loud. OCD, but true. I’ve already begun creating the most critical scene. It’s the part of the novel I’ve been aching to write for the longest time. It needs to be written. It has to be written, and yet I feel reluctant to step off the edge of the very precipice I’ve created and let the real ride begin.

UPDATE: It’s finished. Time to bring out the big guns.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Original Novel: End of Part I on the Horizon

  1. Enjeru

    April 24, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    That’s awesome! 😀 I’ve always wanted to write a novel myself and I definitely know how hard it is to get a story going. Congrats on getting there, and I wish you the best with part 2.

    PS- Would we be able to get a summary? You got me interested now what your story’s about 😛

     
    • bettyvine

      April 24, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      Hi, Enjeru!

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog. It means a lot to me. 🙂

      I will post a synopsis here soon. I don’t want to give too much away as I’ve found that talking about my stories lowers my motivation to write the stories in the first place.

      See you soon!

       
  2. adah!

    April 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    ohh… animals that talk huh…honestly all the stories about talking animals that I have ever read were children stories… I do watch movies with that theme though..heheheh… a fox, a wolf and a crow were really odd combinations… with the fox being a solitary creature and a wolf which live with a pack and a crow, being a … well, crow… creepy and such… lol… from the sound of it , it seems like a self-reflecting story and no matter what I do, I always end up liking stories of that genre…
    Good luck on this project! Hopefully you finish it on time and well, I might be checking for it in the bookstore, if ever it reach my country… I’m from Philippines btw… lol…

    so, ja ne!

    *it would be nice if an e-book would be available, free e-book are the best! lol*

     

Leave a Reply

 
